John L Studer DDS, MS

A Love for Orthodontics

As an orthodontist, I love watching how improving a person’s smile can transform their life. No matter what their age, many of our patients go from feeling shy and embarrassed about the appearance of their teeth to being more confident and self-assured. Often they become more outgoing, and laugh and smile more readily. You can see it in how they make eye contact and start conversations: they feel good about how they look.
 
As the orthodontic treatment processes, I have the opportunity to really get to know each patient and develop lasting relationships with each of them. I look forward to their visits, not just because I’ll see the progress that we’re making in developing their beautiful new smile, but because it’s a chance to catch-up on everything that’s been happening in their lives. Those conversations are always wonderful!
 

Education and Commitment to Continuing Education

I earned a Bachelor degree in Biology from the University of Texas. From the University of Texas, Houston Dental Branch, I earned a Doctorate of Dental Surgery and then a Master of Science degree with an Orthodontics Specialty Certification. I am a strong believer in life-long learning, and know it’s essential for those in the healthcare field, where there are constant developments in treatment processes and the addition of new technologies.
 
Therefore, I seek out continuing education opportunities throughout the year, including advanced clinical education programs, programs through Invisalign®, and meetings and seminars through the American Association of Orthodontists, the American Dental Association, and the Southwestern Society of Orthodontists.
 

Away from the Office

Brenham has been home for more than 30 years now, but I was born in Fort Worth, Texas. For two years I lived with my family, including my wife Bridget, son Eric, and daughters Hana and Eva in Ghana - West Africa, as missionaries. I continue to be involved with foreign medical missions in Africa, Mexico, and Central America. When I’m home, I enjoy raising bees, gardening, bicycle touring and backpacking in the wilderness.

Please click here to schedule an appointment!